National Anthem of India

The national anthem of India is “Jana Gana Mana,” which was composed by Rabindranath Tagore. The lyrics of the national anthem are written in Bengali and were adopted by the Constituent Assembly of India as the national anthem on January 24, 1950. Here are the lyrics of the national anthem in English:

Jana Gana Mana Adhinayaka Jaya He Bharata Bhagya Vidhata

Thou art the ruler of the minds of all people, Dispenser of India’s destiny.

Thy name rouses the hearts of the Punjab, Sind, Gujarat, and Maratha, Of the Dravid, and Orissa and Bengal; It echoes in the hills of the Vindhyas and Himalayas, mingles in the music of the Yamuna and the Ganges and is chanted by the waves of the Indian Sea.

They pray for thy blessings and sing thy praise. The saving of all people waits in thy hand, Thou dispenser of India’s destiny. Victory, victory, victory to thee.