One-on-one fight between TRS and BJP in Munugode. Hyderabad News

HYDERABAD: In the face-off between Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Munugode by-election, TRS has got a marginal edge over the opposition party in the state. Munugode bypoll result 2022 live updatesTRS candidate Kuskuntala Prabhakar Reddy is leading by 714 votes over his nearest rival BJP’s Komatireddy Rajagopal Reddy by the end of the fourth round. Munugode had gone for the by-election on November 3 following the resignation of MLA Rajagopal Reddy, who quit the Congress and joined the BJP. Congress party candidate Palvai Shravanti is at number three and is facing an imminent defeat. There will be 15 rounds in total. Around 93.1 per cent polling has been recorded in Munugode out of 2.4 lakh voters. TRS has tried its best to contest the elections. Welfare schemes like Rythu Bandhu, Rythu Bhima, Asara pension for old and handicapped, sheep rearing units and micro and macro poll management by TRS and support of Communist parties have helped TRS to give tough competition and maintain its lead. Also, BJP can put up a solid fight for TRS because of its candidate Komatireddy Rajagopal Reddy, who enjoys a good reputation in the constituency for helping the poor. Speaking to reporters, BJP candidate Komatireddy Rajagopal Reddy said, “I expected more lead in Chautuppal mandal. But I got less votes than expected. Presently, TRS has cumulative lead, but I am looking for a close fight in the next round. Meanwhile, both the BJP and the TRS criticized the election officials for the delay in declaring the results. BJP Telangana President Bandi Sanjay criticized election officials for stalling BJP’s further results. TRS minister Jagadish Reddy also came down heavily for the delay in the round-wise announcement. Chief Electoral Officer Vikasraj said, “There is a delay of 20 minutes from the fourth and fifth rounds. There is some delay due to the presence of more candidates. The result will be released after the signature of the returning officer.”